Cracow, 2020, Jul 18th - Aug 2nd
Under the honorary patronage of the Rector of the Jagiellonian University, prof. Wojciech Nowak

The Project is financed by the Polish National Agency for Academic Exchange under the Foreign Promotion Programme
Unfortunately, due to coronavirus outbreak, we have to postpone our School. July 2020 will not be a safe term for the School, therefore we have to change it. Please bear it with us and be vigilant for our news about the new date. The 5th Cosmology School will take place, but in safer time. Due to this postponement, the registration will be extended, but please refrain from paying fees for the school and dormitory for now. Pre-registered participants will have priority in the school admission.


Find us also on:
School will take place in Cracow, from 18th of July till 2nd of August 2020. The purpose of the 5th Cosmology School is to give an introduction to the current knowledge in cosmology, both in theory and observations. This School is intended for undergraduate, MSc and PhD students, as well as young postdoctoral researchers, interested in these fields.

The program of the school will include mini-workshops and hands-on sessions on:
  • SED fitting
  • Introduction into VO tools
  • TOPCAT and Aladin with exercises
  • Introduction to ADQL: ADQL Course
  • VO in cosmology
  • A telescope, how-to
  • ...and more!
Main topics:
  • Large-scale structures of the Universe
  • Dark matter and Dark Energy
  • Cosmic Web
  • Galaxy Formation and Evolution
  • Galaxy Surveys and astronomical observations
  • Computer simulations
  • Gravitational Waves and multi-messenger astronomy

  • Agnieszka Pollo (Astronomical Observatory, Jagiellonian University; National Centre for Nuclear Research)
  • Marek Jamrozy (Astronomical Observatory, Jagiellonian University)
  • Katarzyna Małek (National Centre for Nuclear Research)
  • Janusz Krywult (Institute of Physics, Jan Kochanowski University)
  • Maciej Bilicki (Center for Theoretical Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Laure Ciesla (Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Marseille)
  • John Peacock (Institute for Astronomy, University of Edinburgh)
  • Wojciech Hellwing (Center for Theoretical Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Marek Biesiada (National Centre for Nuclear Research)
  • Małgorzata (Goha) Bankowicz (chair)
  • Magdalena Krupa (vice-chair)
  • Aleksander Herzig (secretary)
  • Elżbieta Kuligowska (co-secretary)
  • Tomasz Kundera
  • Iwona Bronisz
  • Mateusz Rałowski
  • Anna Wójtowicz
  • Dominika Król
  • Klaudia Herzig
  • Anastasiya Mikitsiuk
  • Subhrata Dey
  • Unnikrishnan Sureshkumar
  • Karthik Balasubramaniam
The meeting place: Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Applied Computer Science of the Jagiellonian University in Cracow.